Home / Leisure / Lizzadro Museum to move to Oak Brook

Lizzadro Museum to move to Oak Brook

After spending more than half a century nestled in Wilder Park in west suburban Elmhurst, the Lizzadro Museum of Lapidary Arts will be pulling up roots and moving to nearby Oak Brook. The museum purchased property at 1220 Kensington Road with plans to open in 2019. Space and access limitations and lack of ownership of the Elmhurst site prompted the decision to move. The museum was founded in 1962 by Joseph Lizzadro, an Italian immigrant who started out as a cobbler and rose to the chairmanship of Meade Electric in Chicago. An avid collector of carved gems and semi-precious stones, he went public with his passion by opening the museum in 1962. (lizzadromuseum.org)

 

About Fra Noi

Fra Noi produces a magazine and website that serve the Chicago-area Italian-American community. Our magazine offers our readers a monthly feast of news and views, culture and entertainment that keeps our diverse and widely scattered readers in touch with each other and their heritage. Our website offers a dizzying array of information drawn from every corner of the local community.