UNICO announces its 2015 scholarships

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

UNICOThe Scholarship Committee of UNICO National recently announced its 2015 awards. Among the nearly two-dozen grants bestowed were a dozen nursing scholarships, a pair of literary awards and a pair of awards to help fund studying abroad.

“While we assist talented students to realize their aspirations, we encourage our recipients to become exceptional, contributing members of society,” committee Chair Joan Tidona explains. “As our program continues to expand, it is clear that UNICO National recognizes education as an essential investment in the future.”

The Scholarship Committee presented the following scholarships in 2015:

Major Don S. Gentile Memorial Scholarship — Matthew Anthony Casterella (Sponsored by the St. Joe’s HS Montvale, NJ Chapter; Judged in New York)

William C. Davini Memorial Scholarship — Thomas William Kessler (Sponsored by the Greater Ramsey, NJ Chapter; Judged in Wisconsin)

Alphonse A. Miele Memorial Scholarship — Bryce Andrew Badura (Sponsored by the National Office for Virginia; Judged in Florida)

Theodore Mazza Memorial Scholarship — Olivia W. Gugliemini (Sponsored by the Brick, NJ Chapter; Judged in New Jersey; Confirmed by the Review Committee)

Sgt. John Basilone Memorial Scholarship — Celeste Raphael Carano (Sponsored by the National Office for Washington, DC ; Judged in New Jersey)

Dr. Benjamin J. Cottone Memorial Scholarship ‘ Michael A. DiIorio (Sponsored by the National Office for Massachusetts; Judged in Pennsylvania)

Bernard and Carolyn Torraco Memorial Nursing Scholarships — Sybil Aisha Bleus (Sponsored by the Massachusetts District III), Merry Kay Chernosky (Sponsored by the San Antonio, TX Chapter), Nicole Shay Dauksavage, (Sponsored by the National Office for Texas), Kristin Jane Donadio (Sponsored by the Orange/West Orange, NJ Chapter), Catherine E. Fonseca (Sponsored by the Orange/West Orange, NJ Chapter), Alison Clare George (Sponsored by the Waterbury, CT Chapter), Madeline Faye Jacobs (Sponsored by the National Office for Wisconsin), Julie Anna Kochersperger (Sponsored by the Highland Beach, FL Chapter), Oguaha Chikwelu Nnanyelu (Sponsored by the National Office for California), Mari A. Quinn (Sponsored by the Scranton, PA Chapter),

Nicole York (Sponsored by the Raritan Valley, NJ Chapter), Farah Zaheer (Sponsored by the National Office for New York; Judged in Pennsylvania). DiMattio Celli Family Study Abroad Scholarship — Stephen Gerard Piccininni (Sponsored by the National Office for New Jersey), Christina Marie Simonetti (Sponsored by the Rockaway Township, NJ Chapter; Judged in Chicago)

Ella T. Grasso Literary Scholarship — Kathryn Helena Kerr (Sponsored by the Scranton, PA Chapter), Dominic Carl Conti (Sponsored by the Santa Barbara, CA Chapter; Judged in Missouri).



About Fra Noi

Fra Noi produces a magazine and website that serve the Chicago-area Italian-American community. Our magazine offers our readers a monthly feast of news and views, culture and entertainment that keeps our diverse and widely scattered readers in touch with each other and their heritage. Our website offers a dizzying array of information drawn from every corner of the local community.

Check Also

Student exchange program builds international bridges

ASSE International Student Exchange Programs is seeking North American families who are willing to host …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Want More?

Subscribe to our print magazine
or give it as a gift.

Click here for details